Many thanks for the support over the past term. Parents were made aware that the school was moving from four to six houses from September 2016. As the school grows in size, due to an increased intake in Y7 from an eight form to a nine form entry, with the plan to continue as a nine form intake in future years, it was deemed necessary to develop the pastoral care provision. The increase by two further houses reflects the priority that the school places on the care and guidance that our students receive. It will also allow us to continue to improve the tracking and monitoring of the progress of our students, provide better communication, and greater opportunity for more specific intervention if and when required.

Communication has taken place with parents of all students who will migrate into the new houses and for a small number to join a new form. Teaching groups will not be affected for students in the current Y7 and Y8. For students in GCSE and A Level years, groups are based upon subject selection. I would like to thank those parents for the support in doing this – it is very much appreciated.

I would like to confirm that we have appointed the new House Learning Managers, we have named the Houses and chosen the colours. For clarity, the houses for September 2016 are below with the contact e-mail address that will be live for the new houses in the new academic year.

House

House Learning Manager

E-mail contact

Charnwood Mr D Brackstone charnwood@jths.co.uk
Kingstone Mr C Fogarty kingstone@jths.co.uk
Marchington Miss C Crutchley marchington@jths.co.uk
Needwood Mr P Thompson needwood@jths.co.uk
Rosliston Mr S Markwell rosliston@jths.co.uk
Sherwood Miss S Bale sherwood@jths.co.uk

Posted by JTMAT